More countries announce COVID-19 travel restrictions after omicron variant discovery

The Eu Union targets to halt air trip from the southern African area amid emerging worry about a new COVID-19 variation detected in South Africa, ECU Fee chief Ursula von der Leyen said on Friday.

“The Fee will recommend, in close co-ordination with member states, to turn on the emergency brake to forestall air commute from the southern African region because of the variation of shock B.1.1.529,” she said in a tweet.

the chief Fee will counsel that every one 27 member states put into effect the degree and hopes for the ecu Council to provide the green mild as soon as conceivable, an eu reputable said.

Britain briefly banned flights from South Africa, Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Lesotho and Eswatini from Friday, and asked returning British travelers from those destinations to quarantine.

South African scientists come across new COVID-19 variant


Coronavirus: What Is going down in Canada and around the world on Nov. 25

The variant has a “very unusual constellation” of mutations, which can be relating to because they could help it stay away from the body’s immune reaction and make it extra transmissible, South African scientists say.

Scientists are nonetheless assessing the brand new virus variation, first identified this week. Its discovery on Friday pummelled monetary markets in Asia, the place shares suffered their sharpest drop in 3 months and oil plunged more than three per cent.

Decisions of the european Council, which represents member states, don’t need to be taken via ministers however too can be signed off by way of the country’s ambassadors in Brussels.

Leave a comment